XIV BRICS Summit Beijing Declaration

XIV BRICS Summit Beijing Declaration

Recently the 14th BRICS summit has been organized under the chairmanship of China through virtual medium. Prime Minister Modi has participated in this conference.

The theme of the conference was “Promoting High Quality BRICS Partnership, Beginning a New Era for Global Development”.

The BRICS countries adopted the ‘Beijing Declaration’. At the same time, the member countries also stressed on expediting the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Key points of Beijing Declaration-

  • There has been a call to strengthen and reform global governance based on multilateralism and observance of international law.
  • This includes a more inclusive global governance instrument that respects the sovereignty and territorial integrity of all countries.
  • It calls for reforms in the major organs of the United Nations. At the same time, developed countries have also been urged to “use responsible economic policies while managing policy dissemination.
  • It also includes a call to improve the post-COVID economic situation and promote sustainable development and take forward the BRICS Partnership on the New Industrial Revolution (PartNIR).
  • The Declaration referred to the protection of peace and security through the peaceful settlement of disputes. In addition, a world free of nuclear weapons has also been envisaged.


  • BRICS is a group of major emerging economies of the world. Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa are members of this group.
  • It was started in the year 2006 as BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China).
  • In 2010, after South Africa joined this forum, its name was changed to BRICS.

It has three pillars: political and security, economic and financial, and cultural and people-to-people exchanges.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App


Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities