World Heritage Day

World Heritage Day (18th April)

United Nations marks April 18 as the International Day for Monuments and Sites, in many countries also celebrated as World Heritage Day. The main purpose of celebrating this day is to bring awareness among the people for the preservation of cultural and historical sites and heritage of the whole world.

The theme for this year is “Complex Pasts: Diverse Futures”.

Key Points:

  • The World Heritage Day was announced by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) in 1982, which was approved by UNESCO in the year
  • On this day, communities living all over the world are made aware of their cultural-historical heritage so that our priceless heritage can be preserved.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

  • UNESCO World Heritage Sites are the special places selected and listed by the ‘World Heritage Sites Committee’ due to their specific cultural or physical significance, and the UNESCO Committee oversees these sites.
  • This may include forest areas, mountains, lakes, deserts, monuments, buildings, and cities, etc.
  • The objective of UNESCO listing the world’s heritage is to choose and protect the sites of the world which are of benefit to humanity in terms of world culture.

World Heritage Sites

  1. Historical and cultural site
  2. Natural site
  3. Mixed site

Currently there are 38 World Heritage Sites in India.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App

More Current Affairs

Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities