Vaccine inventor scientist wins Ramon Magsaysay Award

A Bangladeshi vaccine scientist and a microfinance expert from Pakistan are among the five recipients of this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Award.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is considered the Asian version of the Nobel Prize.

Apart from Dr Firdausi Qadri from Bangladesh and Muhammad Amjad Saqib from Pakistan, the other winners are Filipino fisher and community environmentalist Roberto Ballon, American Steven Muncy for humanitarian work and refugee assistance and Indonesian torchbearer for investigative journalism, Watchdoc.

Ramon Magsaysay Award:

  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is given annually to individuals and organizations in Asia for doing particularly remarkable work in their respective fields. The award is given in the memory of former President of the Philippines, Ramon Magsaysay.
  • The Raman Magsaysay Award was established in the year 1958 and the first award was presented to ‘Vinoba Bhave’ of India.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App

More Current Affairs

Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities