Systematic Voter’s Education and Electoral Participation- SVEEP

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Systematic Voter’s Education and Electoral Participation- SVEEP

Systematic Voter’s Education and Electoral Participation- SVEEP

Recently a two-day “Sweep-Systematic Voter’s Education and Electoral Participation” (SVEEP) counseling program was organized by the Election Commission of India.

Key Points

  • It has been launched in the year 2009 as a flagship program of ‘Election Commission of India’ for voter education.
  • The goal of this program is to create an inclusive and participatory democracy by encouraging all eligible citizens to vote and providing a decision and ethical choice.

Other related initiatives:

‘NOTA’ option:

The NOTA option empowers voters not to vote for any candidate.

Voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT)

It is an independent verification printer machine, and is linked to the Electronic Voting Machine. It empowers voters to verify whether their vote has gone to their own candidate.

National Voters Day:

It is celebrated on 25 January every year since 2011 to mark the formation of the ‘Election Commission of India’.


The app provides time-stamped, evidence-based evidence of model code of conduct and expense violations, including live photos or videos, along with auto location data.

Election Commission of India

  • In the constitution, it is an autonomous constitutional authority responsible for the administration of union and state election processes in India.
  • It administers elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, state legislatures, the offices of the President and the Vice President.
  • Part XV of the Indian Constitution deals with elections and provides for the establishment of a commission for these matters.
  • Articles 324 to 329 of the Constitution deal with the powers, functions, tenure, eligibility etc. of the Commission and its members.
  • Originally it had only one Election Commissioner, but after the Election Commissioners Amendment Act 1989, it has been made a multi-member body.
  • At present it consists of 1 Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and 2 Election Commissioners (EC), who are appointed by the President.
  • All of them hold office for a term of 6 years or on attaining the age of 65 years (whichever is earlier).

Source – PIB

Download Our App




Open chat
Youth Destination IAS . PCS
To get access
- NCERT Classes
- Current Affairs Magazine
- IAS Booklet
- Complete syllabus analysis
- Demo classes