Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

Why In News ?

The Central Government has decided to introduce 56 awards (3 Vigyan Ratna, 25 Vigyan Shri, 25 Youth Science Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, 3 Science Team Awards) under the category of National Science Awards to honor scientists.

These awards will be announced every year on the occasion of National Technology Day on 11th May and will be presented on National Space Day on 23rd August in the year 2024.

  • The objective of the award is to recognize the notable and inspiring contribution made by the scientists, technologists, and innovators individually or in teams in various fields of science, technology and technology­ led innovation.
  • It shall be one of the highest recognitions in the field of science, technology, and innovation in India.
  • Scientists/ technologists/innovators working in government, private sector organizations or any individual working outside any organization, who have made distinguished contributions in terms of path-breaking research or innovation or discovery in any field of science, technology, or technology- led innovation shall be eligible for the awards.
  • People of Indian Origin staying abroad with exceptional contributions benefiting the Indian communities or society shall also be eligible for the awards

Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

The awards shall be given in following four categories:-

  • Vigyan Ratna (VR) award will recognize lifetime achievements & contributions made in any field of science and technology.
  • Vigyan Shri (VS) award will recognize distinguished contributions in any field of science and technology.
  • Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB) award will recognize & encourage young scientists up to the age of 45 years who made an exceptional contribution in any field of science and technology.
  • Vigyan Team (VT) award to be given to a team comprising of three or more scientists/researchers/innovators who have made an exceptional contribution working in a team in any field of science and technology.

Scientists, technologists, and innovators working in any field of science in government or private organizations who have contributed or carried out a path breaking research, technology led innovation or discovery in any field of science or development of innovative technologies/products having significant societal impact shall be eligible for the award.

Scientists, technologists, and innovators of Indian origin abroad with exceptional contributions benefitting the Indian communities or society at large shall also be eligible.

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar shall be given in the 13 domains, namely Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics & Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology & Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others. The representation from each domain/field, including gender parity will be ensured.

All nominations received for the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar awards shall be placed before the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee (RVPC) to be headed by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to Government of India and comprising Secretaries of Science Departments, members of Science and Engineering Academies and some distinguished scientists and technologists from different fields of science and technology.

The nominationsfor this bouquet of awards will be invited every year on 14th January which would remain open till 28th February (National Science Day) every year. These awards shall be announced on 11thMay (National Technology Day) every year. The Award Ceremony for all categories of awards will be held on 23rd August (National Space Day). All Awards will have a Sanad& a medal.

These new National Awards is a transformative step in recognizing achievements of Scientific community at the highest level by the Government of India. With transparency and fairness in the entire selection process, work done by all sections of Scientific Innovators and Technologists will be awarded providing at par status with other National Awards

National Technology Day:


  • This day was first celebrated in the year 1999, its purpose is to remember the scientific and technological achievements of Indian scientists, engineers.
  • This day was named by former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
  • Every year, the Technology Development Board of India under the Ministry of Science and Technology celebrates this day by honoring individuals with National Awards for their contribution to science and technology.


  • This is the day when India successfully tested the nuclear bomb in Pokhran on May 11, 1998.
  • India successfully test-fired its Shakti-1 nuclear missile in the operation named Pokhran-II, also known as Operation Shakti.

Download Our App

More Current Affairs

Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities