Ramanujan Prize 2021

Ramanujan Prize 2021

Recently the Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians, 2021 has been announced.

Professor Neena Gupta has been honored with the Ramanujan Award for the year 2021. The award has been presented to him for his outstanding work in affine algebraic geometry and commutative algebra.

About the award:

  • The award is named after the great mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan.
  • This award is being given annually since 2005. It was originally established by the Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), the Niels Heinrich Abel Memorial Fund and the International Mathematical Union (MU).
  • Abel Fund’s participation ended in the year 2012.
  • The Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, is funding this award since 2014.
  • Under this award, a mathematician from a developing country is honored. The eligibility age for this should be less than 45 years. Eligible person should be working in any branch of Mathematical Science. Under this award, a cash amount of $15,000 is provided to the recipient to support his research.
  • The name of this award has been changed to “DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Award” from the year 2021.

About Ramanujan:

  • Ramanujan was born in Madras. He did research on elliptic functions, continuous fractions and infinite series. In addition, he also made important contributions to the analytic theory of numbers.
  • He became the second Indian Fellow of the Royal Society in the year 1918. In the same year, he had the opportunity to become the first Indian Fellow at Trinity College, Cambridge.
  • His birthday 22nd December is celebrated as ‘National Mathematics Day’.

Source: The Hindu

Download Our App


Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities