NITI Aayog, National Institution for Transforming India

NITI Aayog, National Institution for Transforming India

Recently, Suman Bery has been appointed as the Vice-Chairman of NITI Aayog by the Government of India.

NITI Aayog is the premier policy think tank of the Government of India. It provides directional and policy inputs. It is an executive body. It has replaced the Planning Commission, which was set up in the year 1950.

Composition of NITI Aayog

  • Chairman: Prime Minister.
  • Governing Council: It consists of the Chief Ministers of all the states and the Lieutenant Governors of the Union Territories.
  • Vice President: Appointed by the Prime Minister, who has the rank of a cabinet minister.
  • Regional Councils: For fixed term.
  • Chief Executive Officer: Appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed tenure.
  • Knowledgeable, experts and professionals with knowledge of relevant field to be nominated by the Prime Minister.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App


Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities