India Takes Over UN Security Council Presidency for August

India Takes Over UN Security Council Presidency for August

Recently, India has assumed the Presidency of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the first time for the term 2021-22.

  • India’s two-year term as a non-permanent member began on January 1, 2021. It is to be known that this is India’s 8th term as a non-permanent member of the Security Council.
  • The presidency of the UNSC is determined on a monthly basis according to the English alphabetical order of the names of the 15 member states.
  • This will be India’s first presidency as a non-permanent member of the UNSC for the 2021-22 term. After this, India will again preside over the UNSC at the end of next year i.e. in December.
  • As chairman, India will set a UN Security Council member’s agenda, whose resolutions and directions will be binding on all member states.
  • India has set its agenda for holding high level meetings on three priority areas namely maritime security, counter terrorism and peacekeeping.
  • It is also expected to launch a mobile app “UNITE AWARE” for peacekeepers to improve situational awareness, and field information.
  • UNSC is one of the principal organs of the United Nations. Its primary responsibility is to maintain international peace and security.
  • The other major organs of the United Nations are the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). There is the Council of Trustees, the International Court of Justice and the Secretariat.
  • India along with Germany, Japan and Brazil (G-4 nations) is striving for permanent membership in the United Nations Security Council.

UN Security Council

  • The United Nations Charter established the 6 main organs of the United Nations, including the “United Nations Security Council”. Article-23 of the United Nations Charter deals with the composition of the ‘UNSC’.
  • The other five organs of the United Nations include the United Nations General Assembly, the Trusteeship Council, the Economic and Social Council, the International Court of Justice and the Secretariat. It’s headquarter is located in New York.
  • The UNSC has been given the primary responsibility of maintaining international peace and security, and the Council meets in case of any threat to global peace.
  • Although other organs of the United Nations make recommendations to member states, the Security Council has the power to make decisions and issue binding resolutions for member states.


The United Nations Security Council is made up of fifteen members (5 Permanent, and 10 Non-Permanent).

5 permanent members: US, UK, France, Russia and China.

10 non-permanent members:

They are elected by the General Assembly for a two-year term. Five non-permanent members (out of a total of 10) are elected annually by the United Nations General Assembly for a 2-year term. The 10 provisional seats are distributed on a regional basis. The chairmanship of the council is rotated among 15 members every month.

Voting and discussion in the United Nations Security Council:

  • Each member of the Security Council has one vote. The decisions of the Security Council on all matters are made by the affirmative vote of nine members, including the permanent members, with the consent of the members required.
  • If any one of the 5 permanent members votes against the motion, that motion is not passed.
  • Any member of the United Nations who is not a member of the Security Council may, without a vote, take part in the discussion of any question brought before the Security Council, if the Security Council feels that the interests of that member are particularly affected by that particular case.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App

More Current Affairs

Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities