India gets elected in 4 UN ECOSOC Bodies

India gets elected in 4 UN ECOSOC Bodies

Recently India has been elected to the four major bodies of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

The United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations system. It was established in the year 1945 under the United Nations Charter.

The number of members of ECOSOC is 54. It is the central organ of the United Nations system of monitoring progress in the three dimensions of sustainable development – economic, social and environmental.

Its members are elected by the United Nations General Assembly.

India was elected to the UN-ECOSOC for the period 2022-24 last year along with Afghanistan, Kazakhstan and Oman. They have been selected in the category of Asia-Pacific countries.

The following are the four bodies of ECOSOC:

  • Social Development Commission: It provides advice to the ECOSOC on social policies of a general nature. In addition, it also advises, in particular, on all matters in the social sector that are not considered by specialized inter-governmental agencies.
  • Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations: It considers applications for seeking advisory status and requests for reclassification submitted by NGOs. In addition, it also considers the four year reports submitted by the NGOs.
  • Science and Technology Commission for Development (CSTD): It organizes an annual inter-governmental forum to discuss topical and relevant issues affecting science, technology and development.
  • Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR): This committee oversees the implementation of international conventions on economic, social and cultural rights by the States Parties to the body.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App


Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities