India to launch global alliance for big cats

India to launch global alliance for big cats

Recently India will launch the ‘International Big Cat Alliance (IBCA)’, which will be led by India. In addition, India will also provide guaranteed funding of $100 million over five years to IBCA.

IBCA aims to protect and conserve the seven major big cat species.

These species are tiger, lion, leopard, snow leopard, puma, jaguar and cheetah. India is the only country in the world where 5 big wild cat species are found. Puma and Jaguar are not found in India.

IUCN Red List Status:

  • Royal Bengal Tiger and Asiatic Lion – Endangered;
  • Snow Leopard and African Cheetah – Vulnerable; And
  • Common Leopard – Least Concerns.

IBCA Membership: Membership is open to the 97 “range” countries in the natural habitat of the big cats. Apart from these, other interested nations, international organizations etc. may also join in.

Governing Structure of IBCA

There will be a General Assembly consisting of all the member states. A council consisting of minimum 7 and maximum 15 members will be constituted. Its members are elected by the General Assembly for a term of 5 years.

Secretariat: On the recommendation of the Council, the General Assembly shall appoint the IBCA Secretary-General for a specified term.

Source – Indian Express

Download Our App

More Current Affairs

Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities