The five newly elected countries to serve on UN Security Council

The five newly elected countries to serve on UN Security Council

Recently five new non-permanent members were elected to the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

The following countries have been elected as non-permanent members to the United Nations Security Council for a term of 2023-2024: Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland.

These countries will replace India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway. The term of these countries is ending at the end of the year 2022.

UNSC is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations. Its primary responsibility is to maintain international peace and security.

Under the United Nations Charter, all member states are bound to abide by the decisions of the Council.

The United Nations Security Council consists of 15 members –

  • Permanent members with veto power (5) – China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.
  • Non-permanent member, for a term of two years (10) – Africa (3), Asia (2), Latin America (2), Western Europe and others (2), Eastern Europe (1),

India began its two-year term in the Security Council in January 2021. This was India’s eighth overall term at the UNSC.

During the tenure of UNSC, India has been working on five priorities under the theme Norms: “Orientation for a Reformed Multilateral System”.

Following are the major priorities focused by India at UNSC:

  • To make counter-terrorism measures more effective by involving agents working outside the UNSC.
  • Modernizing the United Nations Peacekeeping Force, and making it more inclusive and more effective peacekeeping.
  • Making the Security Council decision system more human-centered through electoral accountability.
  • A high level signing program on Maritime Security was organized.
  • In another headlines, the United Nations General Assembly has adopted an India-sponsored resolution on multilingualism. Hindi language has been mentioned for the first time in this. The resolution will encourage the United Nations to continue to disseminate important communications in official and non-official languages, including Hindi.

The six official languages of the United Nations:

Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App


Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities