Youth destination IAS

Disaster Management Plan of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj

Share with Your Friends

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Disaster Management Plan of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj

Recently, the Disaster Management Plan (DMP-MOPR) of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj (MOPR) has been released.

Disaster Management Plan of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj

Objectives of Disaster Management Plan (DMP):

  • Developing disaster resilience at the grassroots level among panchayats
  • To establish a framework for linking disaster management measures in rural areas with the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)
  • To coordinate for the envisioning, planning and implementation of community based disaster management plans.

Features of DMP-MOPR:

  • Every Indian village will have a Village Disaster Management Plan (VDMP) and each Panchayat will have its own Disaster Management Plan.
  • This includes the Disaster Management Act, 2005; National Disaster Management Policy, 2009; and guidelines issued by NDMA have been incorporated. At the same time, it also includes many innovations.
  • All stakeholders including Panchayati Raj Institutions, elected representatives and office bearers of Panchayats etc. will participate in planning, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the scheme.

Importance of Local Government and Community in Disaster Management:

  • The impact of disasters can be reduced by using local knowledge and resources and improving the capacity of local people based on these.
  • Panchayati Raj institutions can be helpful in improving people’s responses to disasters. These institutions can help in this by setting up village level disaster response committees and rescue teams, providing early warning systems and segregating sources of livelihood.

Organizational structure of disaster management at various levels-

National Level

  • Cabinet Committee on Management of Natural Calamities (CCMNC) and Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS)
  • High Level Committee (HLC)
  • National Crisis Management Committee
  • National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)
  • National Executive Committee (NEC)
  • National Institute of Disaster Management (IDM)
  • National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)

State Level

  • State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA)
  • State Executive Committee (SEC)
  • State Advisory Committee (SAC)
  • Disaster management center

District level

  • District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA)
  • District Crisis Management Group
  • District Disaster Management Committee and Task Force

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App


Register Yourself For Latest Current Affairs

May 2022
« Apr    

Mains Answer Writing Practice

Recent Current Affairs (English)

Current Affairs (हिन्दी)

Subscribe Our Youtube Channel

Click to Join Our Current Affairs WhatsApp Group

In Our Current Affairs WhatsApp Group you will get daily Mains Answer Writing Question PDF and Word File, Daily Current Affairs PDF and So Much More in Free So Join Now


Login to your account

Open chat
Youth Destination IAS . PCS
To get access
- NCERT Classes
- Current Affairs Magazine
- IAS Booklet
- Complete syllabus analysis
- Demo classes