Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) 2019

Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) 2019

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) is yet to notify the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA), 2019 rules. Act cannot be implemented without rules.

The CAA grants citizenship on the basis of religion to six communities from Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh who entered India on or before December 31, 2014. These communities include Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis and Christians.

The Act exempts these six communities from any criminal case under the Foreigners Act, 1946 and the Passport Act, 1920.

The Citizenship Amendment will not apply to the following certain areas:

The tribal areas of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura included in the Sixth Schedule and the states regulated by the Inner Line Permit under the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App


Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities