5th meeting of NSA level Colombo Security Conclave (CSC)

5th meeting of NSA level Colombo Security Conclave (CSC)

Recently the NSA level 5th meeting of Colombo Security Conclave (CSC) has been organized.

The National Security Advisor (NSA) level tripartite meeting on ‘Maritime Security’ was organized in the year 2011. Later its name was changed to Colombo Security Conclave (CSC).

This conclave or conference helps member countries to build capacity on common security threats.

Its founding members are Maldives, India and Sri Lanka. Mauritius has been added as the latest member in the recently concluded meeting. Bangladesh and Seychelles have observer status in it.

Its 5th meeting also identified the following five broad areas of cooperation to strengthen regional security:

  1. Maritime defense and security,
  2. Taking anti-terrorism and radicalization measures,
  3. Combating smuggling and transnational organized crime,
  4. Cyber security, protecting critical infrastructure and technology,
  5. Assist in humanitarian aid and disaster relief work.

The roadmap laid down under this will facilitate a robust mechanism among the Member States for the following:

  • For coordinated action, capacity building, and exchange of information effectively.
  • The Colombo Security Conclave is seen as an important step by India to enhance its maritime security.
  • Maritime security covers a wide range of issues related to the maritime domain, such as national security, marine environment, economic development, human security, etc.
  • In addition to the world’s oceans, it also deals with territorial seas, territorial waters, rivers and ports.

Other steps taken to improve maritime security:

  • SAGAR (Security & Growth for All in the Region: SAGAR): The policy focuses on enhancing economic and security cooperation with its maritime neighbors. In addition, under this, assistance is also provided in building the capabilities related to maritime security of these neighbors.
  • Indian Ocean Naval Symposium (IONS): It aims to enhance maritime cooperation among the navies of the littoral countries of the Indian Ocean region and help maintain peaceful relations between nations.
  • India’s Neighborhood First Policy: It focuses on building a mutually beneficial, people-oriented and regional framework for stability and prosperity.

Source – The Hindu

Download Our App


Share with Your Friends

Join Our Whatsapp Group For Daily, Weekly, Monthly Current Affairs Compilations

Related Articles

Youth Destination Facilities